Grooming "faster"?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grooming "faster"?

I don't like to use the word faster, but I can't think of the word I'm looking for...

I'm relatively new to grooming in a salon, I previously groomed by my self and I didn't have a time frame to finish dogs in. I notice I get carried away on scissoring a leg or foot.

Since all dogs are different, let's base this off of a well behaved shih tzu. Generally I clip down, I was told to keep my clipper work to around 15 minutes (for body and legs), then I get 5 minutes per leg/foot to scissor, and last but not least is face, assuming it's a round head, they usually take me 20-30 minutes depending on length and how well they sit still - longer haired dogs sometimes take a bit longer. (And before all of that there's nails, ears, pre brushing if needed, I also trim sanitary area, eyes, infront of ear canal, pluck ears, and shave pads and arm pits if needed/short hair cut, and it usually takes me 15-20 minutes for that). If it gets a pre shave I like to spend no more than 15 minutes. And bath and dry usually takes 20-30 minutes to.compeltely dry.

So all together, so it usually ends up taking me nearly 2 1/2 hours to 3 hours to finish a dog start to finish. Which is fine, if that's the only dog I have. But now I'm moving up to finish 2 dogs in a 4 hour spot (which should be relatively easy to adjust to), but I'm supposed to move up to 3 dogs in the 4 hour spot within the next month. I'm worried about how I will get everything done and meet the standard I set in my head.

What are some ways you groom "faster"? How long does it take you to scissor legs, feet, a face?

If you have any tips at all, please let me know. I want to move up to doing more dogs, I just end up spending way to much time on one little thing.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Are you using a Bravaura and SS combs to do your round heads? This is really a time saver.