combs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• combs

Im new at this and still in school. I didnt know where to put this question and may have it in the wrong forum. I have bought ss clipper combs. I know how to make them the same as clipper combs. Like a four is a seven blade. (think ) OK my question is when would it be better to use the combs then just a plain blades? What kind of coats would they work better on? or anything else you may want to give info on. I need all the help I can get. Thanks

I'm really sorry but I didn't understand anything you wrote! Please elaborate so we can help.

Comment

Okay, I'll get the ball rolling on this topic.

Myself, if the dog is getting taken down short (#5/#7/shorter), I use a blade.

If I want a longer, fluffier style, I used a snap on comb. What the combs do is raise the blade up high enough you can get the extra length of the cut with the approximate smoothness of the blade you attach the comb to.

The thing you have to keep in mind when you use a snap on comb is the coat you are using it on must be clean and completely brushed and combed out, tangle and mat free, or the comb will get hung up on the tangles and could pop off and/or leave a chop mark in the coat.

I think they work best on thicker or curlier coats, such as poodle/bichon type coats, heavier double coats like the coats on the nordic breeds or coats like you find on goldens and spaniels. They are tricker to use on really silky, flat coats (think Yorkies) unless you use a vacuum system with them, and that's a whole 'nuther subject right there.

Comment