Going backwards?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Going backwards?

Just asking! How many of you groomers have tried the backwards thing? You know, going against the grain on certain dogs. Well my experience with it is wonderful. I know you're probably saying..." She's late" " We've been doing that". Well that's why i wanna know. I'm still new to grooming and i had been having a hard time figuring out how to stop those ugly clipper lines, you know when shaving down a lab with say a #10 or something. I can still do it quite neatly, but it's so smooth going against the grain with a #5 or #7, no lines. I think this is the most wonderful thing a person can learwhen new to grooming. Plus it shaves of valuable time spent trying to smooth out a coarse coat. I use a #4 backwards in the place of #7 w/grain, a #5 A/grain in the place of #10 W/grain, a #7 in the place of #15 W/grain. But when the client comes in with a heavily coated breed like Australian sheperd but they don't want it shaved down and still want it a little fluffy, i go backwards with a #0,1/2,or 1 comb. It comes out so pretty. And i scissor the sticky outties. Now, 'I've told you about my experience, now tell me about some of your secrets that i could use to be a little more productive. Thanks for the info!!!

In my experience reverse shaving is a good thing especally for those Lab shaves and husband heads.
    1.5 comb reverse= 5F
    4F reverse = 7F
    5F reverse = 8.5
    7F reverse = little shorter than a 10--this what I use to do my husbands head.
    Never gonna know if you never even try

Comment