HELP New stripping knives

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP New stripping knives

I bought a set of CC stripping knives and a groomer friend of mine told me that I need to "season" them before I use them. I have never heard that before so I asked her what that ment and she said another groomer told her to let them sit it quick stop to dull the blade. I am very new to hand stripping and the knives I have been using are used so I have never had to worry about this before. So my question is has anyone ever heard or done this before???

You will find references to this method in threads about hand stripping. You need to dull the blades otherwise it cuts the hair instead of pulling it out.

Comment

yup, dip it in water, then quick stop, set aside or in a baggie for a couple days.

Comment

Originally posted by brownlikewoah View Post
        yup, dip it in water, then quick stop, set aside or in a baggie for a couple days.
        This is very interesting!!

Comment

It's true. I don't know why they don't come not as sharp or pre seasoned.

Comment

I know, I'm going to sound like an odd ball here, but I've never found this to be true. If used incorrectly, yes, you need to dull them. If held properly, you can strip and not cut. At least this is what I've found. I will ask around some more, and I realize I'm way on left field here. It's all about your procedure. Laid flat = flat = you can card out undercoat. Turned up, with your pressed to outer coat, you can pull. If you twist, you will cut - especially with a new knife. It is a knife. We don't want to cut, we want to card or pull.

Comment