Hand Stripping

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hand Stripping

I've never stripped a dog before and I don't know much about it. I looked up older posts about it but I have my own question. Is learning to hand strip worth it? I believe just having the skill and knowing how to do it is worth it, but I'm not sure how many people will want their dog stripped. Expecially because it costs an arm and a leg! I heard its "zen like" to strip as is scissoring, which is my favorite part of grooming. My parents own a cairn and a beautiful westie for me to practice on. I was also wondering, does it hurt?..The dog, I know it's rough on the hands of a groomer, but I feel like it would be painful to strip a dog expecially one that has been clippered his whole life. How did you all learn to strip?, self taught? schooling? I tried to read an article online but there's sooo much to learn I feel like I'd need a mentor. So my main questions are, is it worth it? How many customers do you have that get their dogs stripped? and how did you learn? ..Sorry that got long :/