Handstripping an Irish Setter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Handstripping an Irish Setter

I have a friend who is getting an Irish Setter puppy in July and she is wanting to groom him. I’m wanting to handstrip him instead of clippering to keep him in proper coat. I was taught how to handstrip terriers and spaniels in school. But not a lot else. When would i start stripping/carding him? And what all would I strip on him, just his back or his head/muzzle/ears also? Or would I clipper his head/muzzle/ears? And how often would I need to strip/card him? Would I basically pluck the undercoat out like a spaniel? I have Notes from the Grooming Table and will be using it to get the pattern. Sorry for asking so many questions. I’m really excited to get to groom a setter, I love them and hope I can do a good job on him. I appreciate any advice about grooming this breed, I’ve never done one before.

I tried stripping my English Setter when he was a pup. I used a pumice stone instead of plucking or stripping combs. I liked the way it looked but it was just way too time consuming once his coat came in. Unless its a show dog, I wouldn't waste my time. If you do decide to do it, the dirtier the dog, the better, they have fine hair. It used to take me about 3 hours not including bathing and I consider myself pretty dang fast, so charge accordingly because your hands are going to ache so bad you will need a massage if you want to work the next day. And yes, I still clippered the head, ears and tummy.

Comment