I did my first Welsh Terrier yesterday

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I did my first Welsh Terrier yesterday

I have never even seen one in real life. The customer was referred to me and I told him I had never groomed one but I was willing to try if he would be patient with me. It was a beautiful 4 mo old puppy. Very sweet, but wiggly as expected. I studied the standard a week before he came and watched several dvds. I know they should be hand stripped but I used a #10 on the tight areas and did a lot of blending into the legs. Owner was very pleased and puppy did well for first groom. She was great for ears and face which I thought would make her crazy.....oddly it was the sani cut she went wild on....lol. I loved this dog and look forward to grooming her for a long time......

If anyone has any advice or tips I would love to hear it.

A #10 is awfully short, IMO. they're supposed to look "natural". I prefer a #4 on the body, #7 on the head.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Comment

You don't have to over-think Welshies. You can groom them the same way you groom a WFT and you'll be fine.

If you did use a #10 on the body, yeah, I'd agree with Bluedog, that would be a little short.

Comment