lop sided top knots

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• lop sided top knots

I am right handed and no matter how hard I try my top knots seem to come out lop sided. I have been grooming for six years now and find it very disturbing that I cannot master a perfect top knot so does anyone have any suggestions? What scissors are appropriate, sometimes I use my curves but I dont' think it comes out as well as it does with my straights. Also I would like to know how to create those beautiful creations where the top knot is pulled back into a rubber band, is there a special technique for this?

go buy notes from the grooming table, and the theory of 5. that wil show you topknots and also has a small section on the topknots. brush and sciosser side, side, front the back. I use straight and curved. part it down the middle too and make sure the sides are even. leave a little hair on the back of the neck so you can blend nicely!

Comment

i agree. I use the side, to side, front and back method to. I dont know about any of the other groomers here but when i comb the topknot from side 2 side, front 2 back and then i trim straight across (after each step...i dont know if i am making any sense, but oh well) with my straight shears and then round it out with my curved shears. If there is any blending needed near where the head "joins" the neck i either use straight shears or thinning shears (this works well for me and i get really good result from this!). hope this helped. I dont know if i just confused you more (if i did...sorry). I would just read very carefully and make sure you really understand the section from "notes from the grooming table" on the poodle topknots.

Comment

Originally posted by Pawshpooch View Post