Is there money in grooming?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is there money in grooming?

Hello All- I'm new to this but I am trying to figure out if grooming is for me so I need honest and straightforward suggestions etc from all you wonderful groomers out there. I am currently an RVT at a hospital but have always dreamed of opening a business. I have lots of animal experience, training, behaviour, medical etc and have toyed with opening a dog daycare but got overwhelmed with the startup costs.
    I am considering going to a 3-4 month grooming program to get trained the right way, then work for a couple months or so gaining experience, all the while working on a biz plan for a mobile grooming/home health service biz (since I'm an RVT)
    So, basically, I'm thinking this could be a great plan-I want to be in charge of my schedule in the future but, most importantly, I really want to make money. I understand I have to work hard to get to that point, but from your experience, how is the mobile grooming business, from a financial perspective? I would love if you could give me straight up numbers. Of course, money isn't everything, but I live in a very expensive area, so cali, and want to be able to raise kids in this area. I have done every kind of animal job you can think of for little money so I'm finally ready to start making more-Is this the right field?
    ANyway, thanks for all your responses!