Not sure where to go from here....I'm new to this field

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not sure where to go from here....I'm new to this field

I'm almost done with getting certified 400+ hrs of basic hands on training. I'm not sure where to go from here. I do believe in furthering my education, but I also want it to benefit me more then just experience. Am I considered a certified professional groomer since I will have my certification in 400+ hrs of basic hands on training? I have tried searching and I think I’m just confusing myself even more lol

Please help me understand!!

Thanks

The school I went to is considered a trade school... they have professional groomers on staff with 30+ years of experience but none are certified. So the only thing I can legally say is that I'm professionally trained. I do have a certificate but I wouldn't advertise myself as Certified unless I went through the process. This thread has a little info on it...

http://www.petgroomerforums.com/chat...hlight=certify

If I could do it all over again I would find someone who is certified by one of the national institutes and apprentice under them. I opened my own place right out of school, all alone. I made it but it was tough! My skills would have definitely approved 10 fold if I had someone with more experience to work with. This board is an exceptional place to further your education!

Comment

The place I'm going to is a registered training site for Nash Academy, but I don’t want to pay the 9K for Nash, its ridicules! The salon stated that I can just do the hands on under their name for $4,500 for 400+ hrs and it's the same hands on and basically I would be an apprentice. I’m going to the Intergroom in a couple weeks; hopefully I can find some good deals for my gear. Do you know of any good sites for men grooming apparel jackets or shirts?