Pet Stylist vs. Groomer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pet Stylist vs. Groomer

Do you refer to yourself as a pet stylist or groomer. I prefer the term groomer for myself. 1) I'm not experienced enough to have style as a groomer, therefore I don't think I qualify as a stylist in that sense. 2) I like using groomer because it is more formal in some instances.

I hold pet stylists in high esteem, as artists. My own personal view is that a groomer can also be a petstylist and vice versa, but I don't think of them as interchangeable.

A Groomer, in my view, is more of a technician but also a key person in the health and well-being of a pet.

Kinda like a barber vs a hair stylist. The only worry I have is that stylist doesn't convey the "health" part alone, and grooming a pet, and styling a pet, is much more a health requirement than people hair grooming .....

I just wanted to get the opinions of others here and how the semantics work out in the real world.

Where I work we are Stylist and the bathers are Groom Techs. Which we never actually call them. BTW We usually just say groomer n bather. But I think they both have the same meaning. Maybe a groomer who just shaves dogs should be called a stripper! lol

Comment

My business card says Pet Stylist, but whenever anyone asks what I do, I tell them I am a dog groomer. I don't think pet stylist is immediately understood by the mainstream. Even though I usually do simple cuts, I think all cuts involve styling.
      Last edited by Reader; 01-22-07, 08:12 PM.

Comment

Edited.
        Last edited by pamperedpups; 02-20-07, 12:57 AM.

Comment

My business card says pet stylist but some people look at you really strange until you say dog groomer
          "Whoever Said That Money Can't Buy Happiness Forgot About Puppies"
          Nancy

Comment

I just call myself a dog groomer.

Comment

my business card says C.A.H. (companion animal hygenist), but i call myself a groomer!

Comment