Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello from Los Angeles. New at being an Independent Contractor.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Los Angeles. New at being an Independent Contractor.

Hello Everyone. I am a cat only groomer who just recently began working as an independent contractor. I have been grooming cats for over 6 years. I love what I do! I had the opportunity to hook up with a brand new business owner. The person I am working under just opened the business 1 year ago. I have been on board since the opening. I was working a regular job and doing grooms on my days off as a 1099 employee. Some of my clients followed or found me. She makes all of my appointments and makes claim to the clientele. Business picked up and I had to quit my regular 40 hour a week job at a local veterinarian. I am now doing anywhere from 10 to 20 grooms a week and am looking forward to doubling that in the next year. Last year I was making 50% commission on grooms, and 15% on nail trims and soft paw applications + tips. The owner was purchasing the shampoos and the soft paw tips. They provided the grooming room, clippers and vacuum, the force dryer, towels and laundry facilities. This year I was put at 45% commissions + tips on ALL my services and I am purchasing my shampoos and soft paw tips. I now have insurance and use all my own supplies and my own clippers. They say that the additional 5% they take is for the rental of the space. At the end of a pay period they add the total for all my grooms. I pay them a check for 5% of that total and they write me a check for 50% of the total. Since I am very new to being an independent contractor I of course am always wondering if I am doing this right. They also offered to just take the 5% out of my check. I am wondering what other people do. If its taken out of my check before they give it to me it won't show as income. If it goes on my paycheck and I write her a check for renting the space each wee