Hello from Florida!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Florida!

Hi everyone! I'm new to grooming, currently learning and getting my practice and time in on family and friends furkids.. I also am bathing at the local animal shelter for more experience and to help those poor pups have a better chance at a happy and loving furever home. I am also in the process of opening my own small shop, just working out lease details right now. Something did come about as I am going through this process, I did have a question or two on.. maybe someone here can assist...across the way from where I am opening my shop a larger dog boarding franchise is opening.. (1-2 years).. the owner of the building I am leasing, owns their location also... well apparently they want to meet me and discuss subbing out to me their grooming.. (they offer spa services along with boarding).. I will be meeting with them next week to hear what they have to say. I have mixed feelings about this, but I think over all this can be a positive thing. Just not sure of what questions to ask, and what to look out for... any suggestions? Thank you!

That's a long time for a negotiation. So, you have time to have them put in a proposal in writing. That proposal that needs to go to a lawyer immediately. Any agreement to make with somebody that's opening up a larger business then yours and is looking to farm out business to you they also have a lot more lawyers at their disposal. Protect yourself and your business first.

Comment

Thank you, and true that is a long time.. I'm hoping to be open in a couple months, depending on build out , so enough time to build my customer base, before they even start their build out... Yes, I need to get everything in writing and not commit until my lawyer reviews. It can be a win-win, that is all I can hope for. I am not sure why they want to meet now.... maybe the owner wants us both to stay and wants us to work something out..?? We'll see.