Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello~Q) Home-study

Hello,
    I am new to this field who want to be a vet. tech/animal caretaker and open to any kind of work experience with animals.
    I really want to learn grooming to volunteer at an animal shelter near my house when I am ready.

So...I was thinking of starting a Home-study course.
    So far I found Penn Foster Career School has 'pet groom' course and 'All about Dog Grooming' course from this site.
    Please give me some advices about this 2 home-study courses.

Thank you !

home study

hi I worked in an animal hospital for 3 years a kennel tech, bathed dogs and cats. worked in three grooming shops I always wanted to be a vet but no vet schools around so i decided to take the pennfoster course for grooming. it taught me about safety business management clipping etc: was done in less then 6 months. You can make monthly payments also. good luck hope this was helpful.

Comment

I have done the Penn Foster home study and it has helped me emensly. I am applying the information I learned from the home study now, with a local school. It is a great tool, plus you can go back and look @ the information and tab it and all kinds of stuff if you want too. I printed all the information and put them in a large 3 ring binder. My teacher wanted to go back and look through it "for a refresher" for OSHA, and learned new stuff too. So I think this program would help.

As for the other one I have no idea.

Good Luck in your Ventures.

Kitt
      Sitters For Your Kritters

Comment

I think there is also Groomadog (sp?) as home study. There is also JKL - they are a sponsor here. My sister took the JKL course 2 yrs ago and really liked it. She started a mobile grooming right after finishing her course and is very successfull. I never taken a home study course so I cannot give you any info.

If you do a search on home study, you will find more info.

Comment

Thank you for all your help