Hello from Florida!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Florida!

I am in sunny Florida and been grooming my own pets (2 cats and a dog) for many years now and seriously considering getting into cat grooming... yes, a crazy cat lover )

I'm still in the 'researching' phase and learning as much as I can by reading this board. Great info here by the way!

Welcome!

Another Floridian! What area are you in? I'm in the Daytona Beach area... I've been grooming for about 2 years now and love it. I only groom dogs though, no cats. I love cats, but in my opinion, they are too hard to groom and get too nasty, too quickly. The groomer I work with grooms cats... I usually have to hold them down and end up getting scratched... I have a huge scar across my right hand from a nasty cat's rear claws. Just goes with the territory...lol. I do have to say that there seems to be quite a demand for cat grooming. The groomer I work with gets new cat clients fairly often since a lot of other groomers don't want to do the cats. Best of luck to you! :-)

Karey

Comment

Hi Karey!!

Thank you! I'm on the West Coast and there are very few cat groomers here also. It takes a real love for cats and LOTS of patience ) I've been bitten twice by one of my own cats so I know how mean they can be LOL... The trick is to learn how to read them. I'm learning and getting pretty good at it now. He never bit me again ) or even tried and that was a long time ago.

I have had other cats put there 'nice little teeth' at my wrist/arm but they never bit me. I guess it's all about how comfortable someone is to work with them and I understand those who doesn't want to touch them - they can be really nasty LOL....

Minou

Comment

Hi - another Floridian here! I own a grooming shop in Tampa...where on the W. coast do you live?

Welcome!

Comment

Hi, another Native Floridian here :-) I own a shop in the Orlando area.

Comment

I'm thinkin we got FL covered!

I'm in Lakeland.

Erica