Call me crazy....but

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Call me crazy....but

Been watching the grooming business for about 8 years now, I'm a store manager for a unnamed retailer and have had two stores now with some of the companies best performing salons.

I've always found myself attracted to the grooming business even in my first year of working in a pet store and i'm to the point where I want to jump the gun on grooming.

Few questions for ya.

#1. I will be doing a home study as time for a hands on school isn't an option right now, I've lerked this site for a year now reading stickies what do you guys think?

#2. I am going to go in the mobile grooming business, I haven't decided if i'm going to convert or buy a premade unit...I have the cash but converting would be nice and I could save alot of $$ (I restore cars and campers on the side as a hobby)

#3. I have a co-worker that has been in the business many years and I would call her probably the best worker i've had in the 13+ years of working retail....We are thinking about going in business together and while i'm being "trained" we work out of a larger mobile grooming unit, She is a master certified groomer so experiance i'll learn will be invaluable...Main reason we are pooling efforts is; I have the income to help purchase van and she has the experiance to train me and the plan would be to go separate ways once enough income has been built up and we are able to get our own units.

Granted i'm not a complete rookie, I plan on having a lawyer look over everything and draw up agreements so that this will be a smooth-ish transaction, licensing and taxes...all this has been looked at and no suprises.

We both have owned our own businesses and want the same thing---mobile.

Any further advice ?
    Last edited by purplepeopleeater; 04-01-10, 10:47 AM. Reason: make where I work a little less obvious.