Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New member from Sweden

Hi all!

My name is Mia and I live in Sweden. I have been grooming since 1990. In my free time I breed and show apricot poodles and wirehaired foxterriers.
    In 1999 I started to compete in groomingcompetitions around Europe and found my self a new exspensive hobby *smile *

To work as a groomer over here is a bit different from the US. We handstrip all wirehaired dogs - otherwise you are looked at as a bad groomer . We dont bring all the dogs in in the morning - we take one dog in at a time. Thats becouse the owners gets so upset when you try to tell them that the dog will be in for a long time.I try to do 2 dogs at the time if its possible - but its hard when you do a lot of handstrip and handsissoring( I have a lot of poodle clients that I handscissor the whole dog)

We dont have any mobile groomers.And the grooming bussiness is still in the stone edge compered to the US.
    We still dont have a groomingorganisation but are working on it!

regards
    Mia

Welcome to the boards, Mia! I don't think hand stripping dogs is from the stone age---your dogs are probably better in skin and coat than ours are! But I hope you get paid well for your hard work. Hand stripping all day would kill me! How well are groomers paid over there?

Tammy in Utah (USA)
    Groomers Helper Affiliate

Comment

Welcome Mia! I think it's fantastic that you are handstripping all the wire-haired breeds. I commend you for all that hard work, and like Tammy said, I hope you are well compensated for it.

I take in 1-2 dogs at a time too. Some US groomers do that, though not the majority.

Welcome to the board!

Comment

Thanks for the welcoming

I charge by the hour for the handstripping - so if its a airedaleterrier it gets expensive....*smile*
        Its hard to compare prices - but I charge about 38 US dollars an hour . If the dog only take 1 hour they pay a higher price -62 US dollars.