No announcement yet.

new here!

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • new here!


    I've been grooming for about 13 years now and have aspirations to open my own shop one day, but in the meantime am simply looking for a steady job! I recently, as in within the past 2 weeks, moved from California's Bay Area (and a VERY busy shop) to Eugene, Oregon where I'm having some trouble finding a shop that needs a full-time groomer. Even those looking to fill a part-time position are few and far between. Argh!

    My girlfriend and I live with 4 dogs: a 12-year-old Shih Tzu named Macy, an 11-year-old Shih Tzu named Lily, a 10-year-old German Shepherd/Cattle Dog mix named Allie, and an 8-year-old Yorkie named Oliver.

    I've known about this site for some time, but never really took the time to peruse the message boards until tonight. It seems like a great source of information and support and I look forward to being a part of the community!

  • #2
    WELCOME!!!! I am sure you will get addicted to this site as many of us are lol.


    • #3
      Welcome. Good luck with the job hunting. Don't get too discouraged, but Jan is a hard time for most groomers. Have patience.


      • #4

        Hello and welcome. Sorry to hear that you are having such a hard time finding work. So many people want to be groomers that the industry is becoming saturated. I've groomed for 9 years and I adore doing it. Good luck!


        • #5
          Thank you for the warm welcome and wishes of good luck! I know I need to have a little patience on the job front. It's just a bit of a shock coming from a very high volume shop and area (my old co-workers are having to do 13-16 dogs per day now that I'm gone and they have yet to find a new groomer to replace me) to one where the demand doesn't seem to be as great. I'm sure I'll find steady work soon, though.

          Thanks again and it's great to be here!


          • #6
            Big Hello to ya, and yes, great board for learning. I'm originally from the Pacific Northwest, groomed in Oregon, Washington and Montana. I now live in Florida. I've been in Florida for 11 years, but still miss the northwest. My daughter still lives in Portland. I'm sure you'll find a good job soon. Good luck!