HELP! NEW! Questions about insurance and such

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP! NEW! Questions about insurance and such

Hi everyone!! I am new to this site. Let me do a quick intro. My name is Erin, and I have been a pet stylist for just shy of a decade. I am ready to embark on a new mission and open my own mobile grooming "shop". I live in SoCal (the Inland Empire, to be specific). So anyhoo, I have been doing LOTS and LOTS of homework as far as opening a mobile grooming business and I have found out a lot about what I want and what I don't want. I am working on a business plan right now and I know every little detail (pretty much) as far as what I want and how I will get it. I bought the DIY Mobile Grooming Shop and Business Training book and DVD by Richard and Carol Doggett, and it has really helped me tremendously. I was going to buy a used already mobile grooming van, or a new van like wagntails, but I don't want to buy someone elses problem potentially and with wagntails, well it is absolutely magnificent, and I would love that, but holy cow is that expensive!!! So I've decided to build my own mobile grooming shop after buying a new van. Okay, so now to my serious questions that I need some serious answers to....

1. Since I will be mobile, do I need a county business license, or can I get a business license for the city that I live in?
    2. How do I obtain an EIN or a tax ID number?
    3. Do I need to register with the city or state?
    4. Should I become an LLC (Limited Liability Company), or what about a corporation? Is that the same thing? Sheesh, I am lost, haha!
    5. Who do I use to insure my grooming van???
    6. Do I myself also need to be insured, or just my van???
    7. How much money do y'all set aside for taxes? Do you do like 30%? And if so, then how much of your percentage... like do you do it daily, weekly, monthly?