New in the mobile grooming business

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New in the mobile grooming business

I had a meeting yesterday with the owner of the mobile grooming van. I have worked as a groomer in the a shop for about 3 years now. I heard that doing mobile grooming earns more. This is my first time to b working in a mobile grooming business. My question was. In the shop they pay me 50% commission. However the mobile grooming business offered me for every dog that I groom they have to take out $15. That $15 covers for gas and supplies like shampoo n I believe maintenance for the mobile van. Then whatever amount is left we split it 50/50. Does that sound fair enough? I am new to this business and any comments /suggestions I would greatly appreciate it. Also I have not use clipper vac b4 I am sure I could learn it easily. I am nervous since this is the first time I will b grooming in a mobile van. I am sure it will b fun.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You know I worked as a mobile employee a very short time. We had a similar arrangement, but if I had to drive over 15 minutes between appts I was compensated for the extra time. It makes a big difference to make sure you are working for a mobile company that CHARGES RIGHT. If you get into a company that tries to compete with salon prices, it ain't gonna work. Usually they don't but I have seen a few startups do that.

Comment

I charge a $20 trip fee which is separate from the groom charge. The groomers make between 50 and 55 percent of the groom charge which is typically 15 to 20 higher per groom than any shops around me. So the driving does not take away from their earnings. They in turn make more money doing less dogs and tips are very generous.

As long as the groom prices are strong, you should be fine. Minimum haircut full grooms should be 45, then the 15 on top.

Comment