Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Groomer

Hi Everyone!
    I have been reading your posts for the past few months and love all of the information you are all providing.
    I have been an apprentice for approx 1 year and I am in the process of purchasing a van.
    I am a bit nervous because while I dont have any problem working with big dogs that need minor clipps, I am still not very comfortable working with highly complex breeds that require lots of skills.
    I am suprised when most groomers say that they prefer having a small dog clientele because I find bigger dogs to be easier to groom.
    Did any of you started out with some weaknesses such as myself or where most of you quite comfortable with all breeds by the time you created your own business.
    Thank you for your time!
    Trevor

I always liked the bigger dogs, too! I did so much when I was a tech treating dogs with skin conditions, that I just loooove to take a dirty dog and properly brush and clean them up! I like trimming them to look tidy, too. I do a lot of functional grooming and make it look good. I like poodles and bichons, but not as much as taking a dog with yucky skin and making them feel so much better. I love to see the owners fall in love with them all over again, and suddenly want them groomed regularly. Not a lot of mobiles will do the big guys, so there is a niche to fill! Not only that, but I just don't have clients that want the breed styles. They will want their terriers to have the typical face, but then want the body short and easy to bathe after they go to the dog park. Or, they say my dog has this problem or that problem, and together we create something that keeps the dog comfortable...that's what really matters to me. I suppose if I lived in an area where they cared more about proper trims, I would do more of them. It depends on what kind of clientele you have, or want to have.

Comment