Holy Wind

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Holy Wind

We have a high wind warning today. They are advising that all high profile vehicles to stay home. I'm new to driving this van and have a nerve wracking time when it's windy. My husband is insisting that I re-schedule my appts. instead of risking an accident. I'm new at mobile grooming so I only have 3 scheduled for today. Just wondering what others do in this sort of situation? Thanks guys
    Carrie

Hi CarrieT

If you are questioning it then listen to the hubby and reschedule it is not worth anything happening to us or your van. If in doubt and you said they have an advisory out????? I would n't go I would rebook. Take care and Happy Grooming, I think you will love being your own boss, and it is such a pleasure to work in a quiet atmosphere.

Comment

If there is a public advisory to stay home, I'd do it. But for normal windy days I prefer to take back roads to taking the highways and interstates. We have to drive slower than a car would in high winds and this can cause problems too.

Comment

The last time I ignored high wind warnings in my area (gusts over 100 mph), my Sprinter was hit broadside by a gust of wind while I was doing about 65 mph. It picked me up onto the two passenger-side wheels before SLAMMING me back down. Amazingly, no damage was done to the van but my equipment was flung hither and yon. It made the most god-awful racket as all those sharp, heavy items flew about mere feet from the back of my head. It also scared the bejeezus outta me. After I was done crying and hyperventilating, I called bossman, told him to reschedule everyone, turned around, and drove home along backroads for 45 miles, doing no more than 20 mph. I shook the entire way back and smoked about half a pack of cigarettes.

Now when I hear those warnings, I take em a little more seriously. If it's that bad, let 'em wait.