A Lamb Cut on a Cat??-Help???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Lamb Cut on a Cat??-Help???

I'm fairly new at grooming-been doing plenty of Lion cuts on cats-and just now feel like I'm getting the hang of them--but today I had a request for a lamb cut on a Longhair cat--Anyone have any ideas of how I'd do this?
    Thanks in Advance--

the first thing that popped in my head is an all over short clip but what i always do when i get to a 1st time clients house is go over how exactly they want the animal to end up looking and then i decide in my head what will get the animal to that point. ppl will use all kinds of terminology that you might not use so thats why i do a consult with the owner before i ever begin the haircut so i can get a specific idea.

hope that helps.

Comment

With my clients, a lamb cut on a cat usually translates into making a longhaired cat into a short haired cat. I've had very good luck using anything from 1/2" to an 1" s.o. comb under a 15 blade. I usually go in reverse since it gives such a nice finish. Of course, the clipper vac makes all the difference!
      Guard well within yourself that treasure, kindness. Know how to give without hesitation, how to lose without regret, how to acquire without meanness.
      George Sand (1804 - 1876)

Comment

I agree with PuppyFluffer - it is probably doing a reverse SC to take off the extra length. And, yes, a clipper vac certainly helps with the procedure.

My kitty customers usually request a fairly short coat - #1 to #2 in reverse makes them happy.

If you have never done it before, be aware the cat looks like a freshly plowed field when freshly done, but it smooths out over time and looks great within a couple of days.

Comment

Originally posted by Doubledogdare View Post
          the cat looks like a freshly plowed field when freshly done
          That's a great description. I'm going to start using that, if you don't mind.