Generator question....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Generator question....

I was wondering if any of you keep your generator going all day. I groom from 6 - 8 dogs a day and I shut it down after every dog, then restart it when I get to the next appointment. Is this the right way? Can you drive the van with the generator going? I have a Wag-n-Tails conversion van and I've been doing it this way for 4 years now. I never thought to ask the old owner.

I was told that if you have less than 15 minutes between dogs that it was better to leave the generator running than turning it off (I was told this at my WNT orientation), longer than that turn it off. I do have one house that has 12 dogs. I'm usually there from 9-4 and the generator runs continuously. Yes, it is OK to drive with the generator on.
    don't find yourself up a creek without a poodle.

Comment

I only leave it on if I am moving less than 2 miles, and only on city streets. (No Freeway). Other than that I turn it off between appointments.

Comment

i generally will turn it off between dogs unless 1. it's the neighbor next door dog or 2. it is obscenely cold . my thoughts are that the generator is under warranty for 2000 hours. you can spend 25% of that time running and not using it. onan is a real stickler for not covering anything over that 2000 hour mark
        Certified Master Pet Tech Pet CPR, First Aid and Care Instructor
        "Compassion will cure more sins than condemnation." Henry Ward Beecher US Congregational Minister 1813-1887

Comment