Will it be worth it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will it be worth it?

I'm a groomer in PA. After nearly 9 years of being widowed, I married a wonderful man from Ohio (yay me!) and I travel back and forth, spending about two weeks in each state. (I have a farm and a large extended family in PA that need my help and that's why I go back and forth.)

Groomers are hard to find, so I was able to retain my job in PA and work there two weeks out of each month.

I'm considering starting a house call business here in Ohio. I'm only looking to groom 9-12 dogs each week and only two weeks out of each month, since I have a lot of obligations already. I'm really hoping to be able to supplement our income and using my grooming skills seems like the best route.

I'm provided with all the supplies needed in PA, so to do this, I would have to invest in my own supplies to use in OH.

Since I have no experience in this realm, I really need some solid advice.

Thanks!

The successful house call groomers I know in NYC bring very few supplies. A clipper, blades, shampoo, scissors, nail trimmers, etc., to fit into a large backpack. No table, no towels, no cleaning tools. So you can bring as little or as much as you want. They groom small dogs only. Good luck.

Comment