No announcement yet.

Advice wanted for grooming on the side!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice wanted for grooming on the side!

I have been grooming friends and families dogs for a little while and would like to venture and do some grooming as a side job. I am new to the laws and regulations and taxes. Do I need to get a business license if I am only doing it on the side? How do I go about paying IRS taxes? I have applied for my sales tax ID and have that but not really sure what to do with anything?

As far as sales tax goes, you need to find out if grooming services must collect sales tax in your state. This depends on your state, since some states require groomers to collect sales tax, and other states don't. Just google "sales tax" and the name of your state, and start digging around until you find the answer. It may take a while since the information isn't always easy to find.
    As far as IRS taxes, the IRS provides a huge amount of useful information. If you search their site, you can find out how much you are allowed to earn without having to file tax returns. Even if you make over that amount, you may not owe anything -- but still may need to file the taxes.

Comment

1). Many States do not require groomers to pay sales taxes.

2). Does your Boss know that you are grooming on the side? You may be subject of being fired if you signed a contract that excluded you from these side jobs.

3). Your "side job" revenue will be added to your "real job" revenue, and this will become a total gross amount earned at the end of the year, they are not separated by the IRS

4). If you do "side jobs", you will need to establish a business name, and hopefully an LLC........so someone doesn't sue you for injury of their dog and take away all of your belongings.