Grooming on the side..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grooming on the side..

I want to start off my business by grooming on the side, meaning at my house on evenings and weekends. Probably an average of 3-5 dogs a week, which is not much. Do I need to get a business license and insurance if I'm only starting out slow this way?
    Thanks in advance

Hmmm

I would just because if you don't have insurance and you cut a dog, YOU are going to be responsible for all the vet bills. The insurance is usually only about $500 a year, so it is well worth it. It will also cover your equiptment & any other outrageous events that may occur. The business license, you really SHOULD get, because if anyone finds out you are grooming out of your house without one, you would end up paying more in fines! So just to be safe, I definitely would. But you may also want to check with your village to see if a business license would be required for that. (you can usually find that information on their website). So to do it the "right" & legal way, I would definitely get both of those things.

Comment

I would say if you start asking aout a license you may find you are not allowed to grrom from home? As for insurance I would say yes! Anything can happen and its best to be covered. I would not but my house at risk. I groom from home one day a week and I am NOT allowed. So I never got a business license from my city. SHAME on me!

Comment

Originally posted by CurbsideCuties View Post
        I would say if you start asking aout a license you may find you are not allowed to grrom from home? As for insurance I would say yes! Anything can happen and its best to be covered. I would not but my house at risk. I groom from home one day a week and I am NOT allowed. So I never got a business license from my city. SHAME on me!
        That is true and then they have all of your contact information to check on you to see if you do it.