Shopping list for Academy training

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shopping list for Academy training

I'm going to academy soon and I'm so excited! I've been bathing for 2 years now and I'm finally ready to learn how to groom!

Here's a list of things to get so far after doing a lot of research on forums and asking some of the groomers in my salon. If anyone thinks there's anything I should add to the list or would like to share some tips for me before I go that would be greatly appreciated! I'd love to learn more from you guys as well

I've been looking through these forums since I first started bathing and find everyone's advice very helpful and I've learned so much already! Thank you

Academy Shopping List (So far) :

Clippers : AGC Super 2 Speed Andis Clipper
    Scissors : Monk Purples = 8.5 Straight - 7.5 Curved - 7 Thinning and 7 Chunkers
    Brushes : So far I have mainly CC brushes.. Chris Christensen Medium Slicker brush, 20mm Wood pin brush, 27mm Oval pin
    Brush. Oblong 20mm Pin Brush, And the 16mm T Brush/rake.
    Blades : I have a 10,30,40, 3 3/4 FC, 4FC, 5FC, 7FC.
    CeramicEdge Andis Blades. Also have the Magnetic Steel Attachment Combs Andis
    Detangling Sprays : Crown Royale Ultimate Detanger, The Stuff, Ice on Ice
    Books : Notes from the Grooming Table, Theory of Five, Scissors up! By Anna Hawks, The Art of Grooming : A philosophical
    Approach to Dog Grooming

If there's anything you think I should add to this please let me know down below! I'd love to hear from you ^__^

I would get Andis Excel 5 speed, they are pricier, but so much lighter. Also, cordless clipper, like Wahl Bravura would be great.
    As for blades, get at least two of each, in case you drop one and/or it needs to be sharpened.
    I would get Wahl stainless steel combs instead of Andis. They make them for regular blades, and also for cordless clippers with 5-in-1 blades, like Bravura.