Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What clippers would you recommend for me?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What clippers would you recommend for me?

I'm not a professional groomer but I need to buy professional clippers. I have a standard poodle. I'll be giving her clippings in between groomings (to keep her short since she gets hot so easily), and then when I get decent at it, I'll probably do all her clipping myself. What clippers would you recommend for me? And what small trimmer type do you recommend for me to do feet, around eyes, and other small and sensitive areas? Thanks for advice guys.

I would recommend the Andis Super 2 Speed for the body. For the finer trimming, I would get the Wahl Moser. Don't forget you will need a good set of scissors also. The Geib are good for a beginner. Also will need to get a couple of blades for the length you want to keep your dog. All blades and scissors will stay sharper longer if you always wash and dry your poodle before grooming.
    Lisa VanVleet, RVT

Comment

I would definitely go with an Andis 2 speed clipper. For smaller areas, maybe a Tid-Bit, but I use my clippers on a whole dog. It seems like they are scared of the noise rather than the clippers themselves. If you do choose to stay with one pair, I would definitely recommend a 5/8 blade for pads and poodle feet. There is also a 7/8 which is a bit bigger so you can get the hair in her pads done faster if she doesn't like that. Petedge is the best website ever for getting anything grooming!

Comment

I'm sorry, I didn't get the replies for some reason. Thanks for the advice. I think I'll be getting a Andis AGC Super 2-Speed. And I'll try it all over and if that doesn't work for the precision areas, then I'll get a smaller trimmer for the face, feet, etc.