Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Oster "light" clippers - should I even bother opening them?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oster "light" clippers - should I even bother opening them?

First of all, I am by no means a professional groomer like most of you ladies! I only groom my own miniature schnauzer puppy, mostly because I don't want her in the standard schnauzer cut; I keep her looking like she did at three months, without a beard and with long ears, and I leave her body a little fluffy. I'm sure I could find a professional who would do what I want, but I really love grooming her myself

I was previously borrowing my father's Wahl clippers, which worked fantastic on her, but it was a pain in the rear having to wait till we had a chance to see eachother so I could borrow them. I was given a pair of clippers for my birthday so I wouldn't have to wait any more; they were cheapo Conair ones, and when I tried them out they wouldn't even cut Katie's hair. They pulled out her undercoat and clumps of yanked-out hair would get stuck between the clipper blades; it didn't matter if I went fast or slow, used turbo mode or not, or which way I trimmed the hair; it just didn't cut anything.

So, now I've been given a pair of Oster "light" home grooming blades. Because I'm the only one who grooms her instead of just doing touch-ups between appointments, I'm worried they won't work either or won't be heavy-duty enough to bear groomings every 3 weeks (I keep her hair a little longer in winter for warmth, so I trim it more often to keep it from getting too long and tangling).