I messed up :(

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I messed up :(

So, I'm a grooming apprentice, and yesterday I was doing a deshed. He was a lovely Sheltie boy, very beautiful. He didn't make a peep the entire time. I was using a deshedding blade while blowing him out. After that my trainer came over to coach me and noticed blood on the back of his legs, where the large tufts of hair on their backside starts to thin out to his back legs. Apparently, I am too comfortable with the blade, having deshedded my own husky with no problems several times. But for the Sheltie, I used the blade with too much force and scratched him with it. I almost cried and felt HORRIBLE immediately. I mean he made no sounds or flinches or anything! I mean I wasn't digging in his skin, but the blade was sharper than I thought. I raked my hand across it and saw how sharp it was and felt even worse. I should have done that before the deshed. It was very discouraging. I mean, what am I doing learning to groom if I can't even do a deshed right??? Well, my trainer said it was good that I felt bad, because it will stick with me and make me cautious in the future. She said everyone makes mistakes, but I feel making mistakes like that at a dog's expense is almost too much.

Fortunately, today was better. Keeping the Sheltie in my mind, I did two desheds with less force. Instead of the deshedding blade I used a Furminator. Mind you they were shorter haired dogs, so I didn't feel the need to use the blade like I do on a double coat. Next time I have I longer haired or a double coated dog, I will keep this in mind and be careful, because not every dog will let you know if he's hurt.

I still feel horrible.

I double posted, lol