Independent Contractor question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Independent Contractor question

Hi! I'm an independent contractor. I work at a shop and have for years as an IC. I was recently told that ICs don't own their client list. I've seen numerous times on the net and many sites this is not the case. I can't however find any proof of this, just people saying it's so. Where can I find confirmation of this? I have tried to find anything under the IRS site, and case law, but came up empty. Please, can anyone tell me where this comes from and if this is indeed the case and not just an understanding between people that can be changed? I do not have a written contract, simply an oral agreement that I pay 40% of anything that hits my table to the owner of the shop. I do have all my own equipment, buy shampoo and such. I have recently begun to lose my clients to another new groomer because she can work days I can't. I've been grooming some of these dogs 10 or more years, and the owners are not informed about the fact I will not be the one grooming them before they come in. Thank you for any help you can provide!!

Just be prepared for them to kick you out. Paying an employee is more expensive than treating a groomer as an "independent contractor".
    Do you have records of your clients, with contact info, in case they do kick you out?

Comment

There is a forum here called "Jobs, Employment, Independent Contractor vs Employee" you can start there.
      http://www.petgroomerforums.com/chat...2a45edbb6c#_=_

From one of the threads there (look up IRS publication 4902)
      "Indications that you are an independent contractor (booth renter) include, but not limited to:

-Having a key to the establishment
      -Setting your own hours
      -Purchasing your own products
      -Having your own phone number and business name
      -Determining the prices charged"