I think I messed up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I think I messed up

Today someone brought in their Shetland sheepdog for a full service groom. The man said that it's his son's dog and he wants the body "short" but the tail and mane kept longer. So I asked if he meant shaved and he said no, just short. I've never done one of those dogs before, so when they left, I looked it up but couldn't really find what I was looking for.

I think it came out like ****, and the owner said it was fine but I wasn't convinced. The dog's name is yogurt lol but yeah, thoughts?

Edit: I used a #4 blade

dmdogcare
    Toy Member
    Last edited by dmdogcare; 08-17-16, 12:28 PM.

well, I think you did the best you could given you really weren't given great instructions and never groomed a sheltie before. that being said, the things that stick out to me are the feet need more cleaning up and the body is too short. Whenever clipping a dog like this de shed is critical. It really makes a difference in the final outcome. Particentral just did a blog on clipping aussies...pretty much the same technique. What length did you use on the body? I think for me personally, I would go no shorter than an A comb. It's enough to take some length off without having to scissor the whole body. Typically, shelties get a nice contour profile trim (at least, that's what I was taught), but they can also look nice clippered when using the right length. If the owners were happy, I wouldn't sweat it. You learn as you go which dogs look better in certain lengths. Keep notes for yourself with your pictures.

Interested to see what others say. I hardly ever clip these dogs, so I'd like to hear about other's techniques and comb lengths chosen

Comment

Not too bad overall. Could definitely use some tidier feet.

Comment

Originally posted by Pretzel View Post