Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vet Answers Groomer: Should Groomer Pluck Ear Hair

http://www.dailyprogress.com/starexp...54fc8d23e.html

Q: I am a vet assistant, but working in the field of pet grooming at this time. I see many dogs come in with ear problems. Most of them are dogs that have hair in the ear. I suggested plucking the hair to allow ventilation. My boss and co-workers said no, that it causes hematomas in the ear. Is this true? And what is best to prevent ear infections?

A: A hematoma is a blood clot that forms between the skin layers of the ear flap. They are generally caused aggressive head shaking, especially in long-eared dog breeds. Ear infections and ear mites are the most common reasons dogs will shake their ears hard enough to form a hematoma. I have never heard of it being caused by ear hair plucking. However, if the ear plucking causes enough irritation, it would be possible to stimulate the dog into head-shaking behavior.

Plucking ear hair is a common grooming procedure, especially in poodle-like breeds with thick ear hair. Most veterinarians believe that opening the ear canal to air can help reduce the risk of infection. However, some believe that the irritation caused by plucking may sometimes make ears more susceptible to infection. In reality, it probably depends on the individual dog and may be variable among breeds.
    The best advice I have is to ask pet owners when they drop off the dog if they wish to have the ear hairs plucked. That way the decision is in their hands.

If you believe there is already an infection in the ear, you should refer your clients to a veterinarian. As a groomer or veterinary assistant, you are not allowed to diagnose or treat disease. However, you can tell the people you suspect something is wrong and direct them to a veterinarian for treatment.