motivating employees

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• motivating employees

I am a grooming salon manager. I need help with how to I motivate employees to work towards meeting our sales plan. I need to be able to give them reasons why meeting the stores sales plan will benefit them. Any suggestions would be a big help!!

Also a salon manager. Motivation can be hard sometimes, I know. But your question is very vague on this. Think of why YOU want to reach the goal and use that to tell them what they need to do. Hopefully your employees want to make money, so initially motivate them with that. If you are not reaching budget, you are not being productive, and you are not making as much money as your potential. If you are in corporate, talk to your store manager on how you should communicate your expectations to the team.

Comment

It is for most more difficult in the corporate environment. As you can see in my family's book, From Problems to Profits in Pet Grooming, all grooming positions signed a job description, and some an additional job agreement, stating a RANGE of how many they were expected to groom a day (P/T or F/T). The range was largely based on size, condition and style of the pets they groomed which we all know can vary from day to day. It was always a reasonable quota, in fact some today still tell us our quotas were modest. We did not need to motivate employees. Those that wanted to go to an assistant to full charge groomer with on the job training found that very motivating and we would not give them the chance if they had records indicating excessive absences, tardiness or low productivity issues. We simply expected them to comply with the agreements they signed, and all that paperwork they signed meet state employment laws...so we had very few issues with "intentional slowdowns" as it was dealt with immediately and reminded them of what they had signed if need be.