Is My Boss Bad? Need Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is My Boss Bad? Need Advice

I am a novice groomer - I've been grooming a year now, schooling time included, and working at my current job for like 7 or 8 months. Everything was great for a while -- love my coworkers, love the clients, and my boss was great. But I've started having conflict with my boss... lots of conflict. It started when I had a customer very angry at me for not picking the scabs off of her dog, and my boss had me do it anyway. Then, a few months later, I had my first injury... I accidentally cut a rear dew claw on a very matted teddy bear and the claw had to be removed. After asking the client to pay the vet bill (which they naturally refused), he told me I would have to pay the bill. I admit it was my own fault for not finding out before I started what his policy on covering accidents was, but I was quite surprised... I was taught that shops cover injury payments. I eventually came to him and said that I was not comfortable paying the bill because we had not previously discussed his policy on accidents and I had never signed anything saying I would pay for a vet bill. After some time he came to me and said that he would split the bill with me, but told me lots of (what I felt) were strange things, like that it was part of me building credibility to pay the bill and that it was only fair to my coworkers, and that it was very normal for groomers to pay the bill in shops, that it was a very serious injury and the worst he had in the shop, and that it was my responsibility... etc etc. I told him I wanted to think about it for a few days. Well, low and behold on my next paycheck, I see that he's started taking money out of my pay to cover the bill. I wrote him a check for the half the bill and asked him to please not take money out of my paycheck with out my consent again. I didn't mention that it's obviously illegal since I assumed he knew that.