Problem bosses

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem bosses

I have been working for a lady who is also a groomer for a couple months now. She has a hot temper and takes advantage of me. For example, I will bathe and dry a dog do that I can then groom it and then she will take it from me. I then, do not get paid at all. I don't come to work to groom only to do free charity work for her. Then she will short me on my paycheck and not give me my tips or pay me for some of the dogs that I've done. Has this ever happened to any one you? I also do all kinds of free cleaning and errands for her. Every boss I have had in this area has taken advantage of me in some way and it's driving me crazy. Very frustrated and thinking about quitting all together.

(Admin: We have suggested searching legal aid to this unfortunate member. Please remember we do not identify employers here.)

I, personally, would have a frank discussion with your boss. If this is accurate, she is essentially stealing from you. I'd be looking for a new job if at all possible, OP. This sort of behavior is just not acceptable in a manager.

Comment

Thank you, one big problem is that she gets so easily offended. how do I talk to her without her getting offended?

Comment

Originally posted by Groomerdoglover View Post
        Thank you, one big problem is that she gets so easily offended. how do I talk to her without her getting offended?
        It could be her strategy, and if so to subjugate you from asking. If so, you need to start with a question before dealing with the issue. It might help. "Are you aware that I feel as if I cannot approach you with a problem of my employment here?" Tell the truth. See if she will listen as a result. If she won't listen you need to get outside assistance and you need to find another employer now or eventually. Most employers are not like this, and if you cannot fine one perhaps a corp job in the meantime is best.

Comment