I'm new and in need of advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm new and in need of advice

Hi, thanks for reading my thing. Okay so I finished up my 420 hours of dog grooming school which only took about 3 months. So anyways, I just got a job as a dog groomer at a pet market. Yay. But, there's only 1 small room with a bath, table, cages, towels, my stuff, etc. which means that I'm all alone back there. I'm brand new at the whole 'business' side of grooming, so if anyone has any advice they'd like to give me, that would be perfection. I'm kind of getting the hang of talking on the phone so I got that going for me, but I'm not quite sure how to manage my time. It takes me about an average of 2 hours to full service for a dog and I'd like to try and get more than just 3 or 4 dogs done in a day.

Cage dryers. Very controversial topic. At my school, I was taught the proper way to use them and I'd keep them on the lowest or 2nd lowest setting, constantly check on the dogs, and only keep them in for up to 10 - 15 minutes at a time. I know that a lot of people are against using them, and that's fine... I'm not able to have them at my new job anyways... but the thing is, when I had them, I could do the bath and basics of one dog, cage dry it, and while that one was drying I would take out a second dog and do bath and basics, then I'd switch them out. Since I don't have that luxury, I have to figure out a new system to get the dogs done as quickly as possible.

So my question here is.... how can I manage my time better? I was thinking of doing bath and basics, towel drying, then leaving it in the cage while I do the bath and basics of another dog... then I'd just switch them out. Or would it just make more sense to do 1 dog at a time?