Where have all the nice coats gone?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where have all the nice coats gone?

I've been grooming for over 30 yrs. I would so much like to groom a dog, any dog, that has a coat that is correct to standard. There are so many pet stores around here selling doodle-everything, designer this and that. The really sad thing is that most of these dogs have health issues, some major, even before they see their first birthday. OH the good old days!

People like the idea of rescuing a dog... even if it means "rescuing" it from a pet store or retail rescue. With less support for the purebred dog we are loosing much of the quality in our breeds.

Comment

So true. If you know breeders in your area you might get some business from them.

Comment

Yes, after over 40 years grooming. Sadly, even the purebreds can be almost unrecognizable.
        Old groomers never die, they just go at a slower clip.

Groom on!!!

Comment

I don't think "the good old days" are really as good as we remember.

Ive groomed long enough to remember when Poodles were the most popular breed in the US. Cotton ball texture coats, dachshund type bodies, weepy eyes, etc.

Cocker spaniels were the most popular in the 1980's. Terrible temperaments, ear infections that couldn't be cured, skin problems that would make you cry.

In the 1990's I went in search of a miniature poodle to show in obedience and use in grooming contests. All the Poodles at the shows in my area had their "coat texture" sprayed on. All soft coats, just sprayed with hair spray to make them feel correct.

I could go on and on with this but I think you see my point. It isn't any worse now then it was 40 years ago, and it wasn't good then.

Comment

Originally posted by wyattsmom View Post