Pre-booking...is it time to change?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pre-booking...is it time to change?

We have always tried to pre-book our customers, whether it be just for the next groom, or some prefer to book a year at a time. I thought this was the right way to go, maybe not.

With the newer, more expensive groomer in town we have lost some of those longtime (7-10 year) customers. As of yet, I can't ascertain why, because they won't t give us a reason for not coming to us anymore. (I very politely have asked by e-mail or leaving a message on their phone...no response). Obviously, there is a problem, and I sure would like to know about it so we can change things. From pix on her FB page, her grooms look to be the same quality as what we do (it's easy to compare because they're the same dogs I've been grooming for many years). I have sent some new customers her way when we can't get them in NOW. Her hours are more limited then ours, and as far as I can figure out they don't offer free daycare for dogs on the day they're groomed. (some dogs stay with us for 9-10 hrs. those days so their owners can get to doctor appts., etc.)

The only thing I can figure out is that she can take people the same day they call. Maybe more convenient for the dog's owners? We still book out a couple weeks, but not much more than that, especially in the winter. Maybe her location is closer to them (she's about 2 miles from us). Is it because she's next door to the non-profit vet? I do believe they take credit cards, but it says they prefer cash or check. (these long time customers we lost have never complained about having to write a check, and for one of them we always held checks for a week or two at their request).

Sure would like to hear what others do in this situation. I need some new ideas to keep us from losing more customers. (and yes, still working on hubby to get credit cards...)

The other place just opened recently?