Drying Goldens

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drying Goldens

So as I browse back on old threads I see some people saying that they can bathe and dry a golden in about 30 minutes. I am still a newbie, and I find that Goldens in particular seem to take me forever to dry. For a bath and dry I would say it takes me about an hour. I generally towel dry as much as possible and then use the HV to finsh. I have a few questions for all of you speedy dryers as to your methods!

1: What would you say is average for a bath and dry on a golden?

2: I find that I have trouble telling if that coat type is still slightly damp until I let it rest for a few seconds with the dryer off of it. Are there any good visual cues so I don't have to stop and start?

3: I have seen people move the dryer both slowly, focusing on one area at a time or flicking quickly back and forth across a dog. Which do you find dries better?

I know this is super basic stuff, so I appreciate any advice!

A full coated Golden, like breed standard can take me upwards of an hour and a half. These skimpy Goldens you see in groom shops with less than half the coat can take a solid 40 to 45 with a proper bath, dry and brushing.

Place a towel on the table before drying to absorb flying water. I pull the cone nozzle once the coat is blown close to dry, then use no nozzle and get right into the coat to dry right to skin level. It really gets that last 10 percent of the dampness dry very quickly. This is all based on a K9 II dryer with 2 motors and heat.

Comment