Anyone share what the H is "groomer burnout"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone share what the H is "groomer burnout"

Newbies to the field are so excited about grooming and then when we read the net we hear some groomers talk about groomer burnout. WTF. What causes that. Not going back to the assembly line factory job I had once fpr cars, or sales, so what do I do to avoid that. Cannot imagine anything as a sort of newbie myself doing grooming, but don't want to burnout. Please help those like me.

Burnout is the same in this field as in any other field of high pressure, high work load, high physical demand on your body, high noise level. Coupled with low appreciation by both your work situation ( employers/ mang'ment/ bosses), clients who do not have the least bit of understanding how difficult this work can be, and fellow workers (groomers, bathers, receptionists, and in some cases vet staff) who are not aware of these stresses or who may be under the impression the groomer is at the "bottom of the barrel".

If you are new, welcome to the grooming world. It is a wonderful place to grow in skills and relationships. But be prepared for any and all of the above. Get the best eduacation you can to prepare yourself for the challenges and be qualified to do good work. Use proper tools and keep them maintained. The industry has grown tremendously in the past 30+ yrs, we have the chance to be much better and work safer. Become a true grooming professional.

sittingpretty

Comment

^^^^this^^^^^
      And add the potential for you friends and family to thinks X tell you that 'it's cute you want to play with dogs all day but don't you think you should get a real job?'