Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• starting out

I have decided to open my shop up town, I posted something in the business
    section, but haven't gotten any response, so I hope I can get some opinions here. My sister offered to pay my rent for a year if I opened up in a commercial space up town, so thats what I'm am going to do, I have a few clients ,I have been training with a salon for about 7 months now. I am sure I still have a lot to learn, I've got notes from the grooming table, problems to profits, and muddy creek grooming videos. I study, watch the videos, and practice on dogs every chance I get. I have built alot of my clients through the local shelter (I give a free groom for any adopted pet) and that has been a big hit with customers and I have gotten some through referrals, I am booked every saturday into the 2nd week in july, I also work at the school full time and they have let me go to part time next fall from 7:30 to 11:30 so I can open my shop 12:00 to 6:00 m-f and 8:00 to 3:00 on sat. share your opinions please if you have any good ideas for me thanks!

What has been a big hit for me is putting fliers at peoples front doors. Pretty much every call is, Hi I recieved a flier yesterday on my front door... then they book an appointment. Try that!

Comment

First, good luck to you.

Second, read read read. There is so much great information out there. This message board, others, grooming websites, books, video's, seminars, dog shows... Never stop learning. Listen to your customers, they will tell you how you are doing if you just take the time to listen to them.

Start your advertising as soon as you have some concreate information as far as location, phone, ect. NETWORK with as many small business associations, chamber of commerce's, go to dog parks, take cards with you everywhere and START CONVERSATIONS! You are the best salesperson for your services.

Comment