Holy Cow! You people know your stuff!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Holy Cow! You people know your stuff!

Which is why I decided to subscribe to this forum. I am new to the pet grooming profession and am in need of some frank and honest answers!

I welcome and am greatful for any and all suggestions, comments and helpful advice!

I am opening a do-it-yourself dog wash, pet salon and retail boutique. I will not be grooming, my efforts will be focused on marketing, customer care, sales, and things of that nature.

My main concerns are...

1.) Which is best for a new business with NO pre-existing clients.....
    a.) having an independant contractor who pays rent for the use of space, major equipment (including hydraulic table, tubs and dryers but excluding consumables) and utilities. If so what % of my rent is fair (my rent is $1800, this does not include utlities or start-up cost).
    b.) hiring an employee who works on a 50/50 commision split
    c.) hiring an employee and paying them an hourly wage, and what is fair/common?

2.) Are stainless steel tubs really worth there price?

3.) I was quoted $5500 for running pre-exisiting plumbing to 3 tubs, is this reasonable?

Thanks!!!!

In my opinion you are letting yourself in for a problem later, since you do not know the ins and outs of the grooming industry. I have seen a lot of shops owned by a non-groomer take a fall due to that fact. Or if the groomer quits and you have full bookings...if you as the owner don't know how to groom, you are left with closing the shop...now as for the DIY facility...I'm not real sure about that, there are so many variables...but I have seen the problem with the other.