In need of some advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• In need of some advice

Hey everyone, I work for someone at a kennel the owner is not a groomer and has never had any grooming training. Can someone give me some advice on how to approach her about how this business works. I love my job and where I work and dont want to offend her or lose my job. Specifically she currently makes my appointments and i would like to start doing this myself. She doesnt completely understand time frames and how some dogs require more work and that usually leaves me screwed. Secondly I need to set my own prices I have approached this topic with her before and she said that some of my prices were to high. All the prices i set are regional to my area and since I have been grooming for five years and worked under alot of groomers I feel I have a better understanding of correct pricing. I just dont want to offend her and I want to be taken seriuosly. Oh yeah and does anyone have any info on what an independent contractor means and how you go about becoming one. Plus I would really like to open my own shop within the next year because I know where the need is but dont have one clue as to how to begin. Thank you in advance you guys always have good info

It's hard for me to give good advice, since you surely know more about this industry than I do! However, it looks like you have two options:

1. You really need/want to keep this particular job as you aren't ready to go work on your own yet.. so whatever you bring up needs to be suggestions only and if your boss doesn't want to take them, you're still stuck.

2. You really don't need the job, so you can be more firm in having your needs met, otherwise you can say "see-ya", and go open your own shop

As for how to bring it up.. if you're currently getting a percentage.. then you could remind the owner that if the prices are higher that her percentage will also be a higher $ figure.