Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Fresh smelling dogs with shampoo systems?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fresh smelling dogs with shampoo systems?

Those of you who use shampoo systems, do you have a hard time getting dogs to smell clean? I have been using my new system for a few weeks now (not a recirc) and I just cannot get the dogs to smell clean like they do when I hand wash. I think it has something to do with the shampoo being diluted down so much and the air that gets pushed into the coat with the jet stream from the sprayer.

I started out using an unscented shampoo then switched over to a tea tree, and still...no fresh scent no matter how high I crank up the dilution rate.

In the past I worked in a shop that used the same Davis system with an unscented shampoo then we followed up the initial bath with a 2nd hand wash with whatever shampoo the dog needed. I was really hoping to eliminate a lot of handwashing, but it seems as though handwashing is the only way to get them smelling good.

Would love to hear comments on the procedure you use with your systems and if you also hand wash for a 2nd wash...

Also, do you dilute the shampoo way down and continually spray the dog all over to lift off the dirt, or do you use a high concentration to quickly spray shampoo into the coat, followed by scrubbing it in by hand?

With a recirculating system you probably won't smell the shampoo after rinsing; that is what cologne is for. I prefer Unleashed; doesn't smell perfumey; clients love the fragrance.

Comment