How do you tattoo a fish?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you tattoo a fish?

No, really.....can anyone tell me how in the world you tattoo a fish???

http://www.underwatertimes.com/news....id=01769543281
    Guard well within yourself that treasure, kindness. Know how to give without hesitation, how to lose without regret, how to acquire without meanness.
    George Sand (1804 - 1876)

Well, according to the comments they're led into a glass tube and then the tattoos are applied in seconds with a laser. Of course, I have no idea how accurate the people writing in the comments are but sounds more likely then trying to tattoo a fish with a tattoo gun.

Comment

I worked in the pet industry (pet stores and wholesale pet supplies) since I was 19. I remember when they offered dyed fish. The death rate for this type of thing is astronomical. Sure they are cute, but I think it's wrong.
      "The most affectionate creature in the world is a wet dog." -Ambrose Bierce

Comment

Animal abuse as far as I'm concerned.

Comment

I can't believe this article! Yes, I've seen this, I do have a 90 gallon tank with cichlids. I do not think tattooing fish is a good idea, these are often molly's too which are live bearers. (if you're pro spay/neuter for dogs and cats you probably don't want to encourage live bearer fish tanks. it's just kind of one of those things. And I may be wrong, but when I first got into fish I had a molly have babies, and thought I was crazy seeing little fish, but found out about the live bearer thing, and a few made it, in a 10 gallon tank with other fish - almost un-heard of .

So, before buying fish look into sustainability, health issues, etc.. I actually feel very "wrong" now about having 2 parrot fish - but it took learning about them first. I would not buy another of them.

Comment

Originally posted by PuppyFluffer View Post
            I think the question should be...WHY in the world would you tattoo a fish?