Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gulf oil spill - Pet Hair Needed - UPDATED

Hi all,
    I am brand new to this forum but I wanted to let everyone know that there is an article on MSNBC about what we can do to help with the clean up in the Gulf. It seems that they want pet groomers to send dog hair as it is highly absorbant with the oil! At last pet groomers have a chance to volunteer to help our country! Ha! It was posted tonight and hopefully there will be more about it on Monday. They are also asking for pantyhose to put the hair in, we might not have the pantyhose but we sure produce alot of cut dog hair! I hope we can help as it is tragic what is happening to our Gulf Coast.

Latest Update from NDGAA below

Hi my name is Sabrina Bradford. I am an undergraduate student at the university of Mississippi and am leading cleanup efforts for the Gulf Coast Region. If you could contact as many groomers as possible and let them know that we need the animal fur to be donated to
    an organization that makes mats to soak up oil from hair you would play a huge role in saving the Gulf Coast Ecosystem Please give me a call if you have any questions. The organization is a nonprofit that received 501 (c) 3 public charity status. The website is http://www.matteroftrust.org/about_us/index.html

Anything you can do would be appreciated more than I can express, we were just getting back on our feet from Katrina and can use all the help we can get.

I find that very interesting. I used to live in Texas not far form the gulf. I Think I'm going to sign up and may be take a nylon collection from my clients. if any one else is interested the web site is www.excessaccess.com

Comment

Link? Dirty hair? Clean hair?
      "We are all ignorant--we merely have different areas of specialization."~Anonymous
      People, PLEASE..It's ONLY a website!~Me

Comment

I think this is a wonderful idea. Just signed up and read that the pet hair doesn't have to be clean.

Comment