Muzzle-free grooming

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Muzzle-free grooming

I've never felt the need for muzzles and quite frankly, I feel they can quite possibly cause even more distress in some dogs, so I don't even own one. However, I do own a Groomers Helper and it's worth it's weight in gold. I do know when to say enough is enough and refer to a vet for sedation, but I've been successful SO FAR and only had to send 2 dogs away.

This fella I've been grooming for nearly two years and he's never had a muzzle on in my shop. I couldn't do him if it were not for the GH.
    Attached Files

muzzles are a blessing

most dogs snap reflexively- not meaning to bite so why risk your precious assets when a muzzle calms MOST dogs right down. Less body wrestling and no need to tie the dog down. Puppies often benefit from a few sessions with a muzzle especially when they have been overindulged by loving owners... I keep 3 sizes in my box for the youngsters and a couple of old die hards who refuse to be brushed without one... Not carrying a groomers helper around in Bitsy....

Comment

I feel there is a time an place for using a muzzle and that using a muzzle can be a nice step before sedation. That said, every groomer has the right to determine what pets they will and will not groom. If your choice is to aviod muzzles, cool. Muzzles don't have to be a bad experience.

I will use a muzzle when I feel it necessary. When I was in grooming school, the head instructor didn't like us to use muzzles. I was grooming one nasty little creature and she kept coming around and removing the muzzle from the dog. She would also remove the grooming loop. After re-muzzling the little "sweetheart" for the third time I was ready when she came by again and confronted her. Told her straight up that the next time she removed the muzzle from that dog she was finishing the dog and I was done for the day and that I was choosing to not be bit that day.