Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How Do You Keep a Dog From Sitting During a Groom?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How Do You Keep a Dog From Sitting During a Groom?

Hey all. I'm still new to the grooming business (only been in it for about 4-6 weeks). I work for a mobile groomer and have been brought on, as a young male, to primarily work on the larger dogs since I have less trouble lifting and moving them.
    One problem I have encountered, especially in the older dogs, is the difficulty they have with standing for the entire groom. This makes it especially difficult for me when I am doing a clip, since it prevents me from getting an even cut while they are seated. I really try to avoid using the haunch holder unless it is unavoidable, and I have tried the hand under the abdomen, and on the pressure point under the hind legs.

Any advice on how to keep a dog standing would be much appreciated.

Thank you

Put a can of green beans (any product will do) under their belly. Save up your money for a Groomers Helper.

Also, don't make them stand the entire groom. There are several stages where they can sit and relax while you are still working on the dog.

Comment

I let the big dogs lay until they [i]must[i/] stand. Then I gently "suggest" they stand by light pressure on their abdomen sorta "tickling" them to a standing position. At that point I employ a sling under the belly if they cannot stand long, I also use a sling on any blind or geriatric dog that I can't trust to stay on the table. Safety first...always!!
      A Light exists in Spring, Not present on the Year, At any other period -- When March is scarcely here...~~ Emily Dickensen~~

Comment

Sorry, missed the big dog comment. With a big dog, I'd use something along the lines of a small rubbermaid foot stool to slip under the dog's belly.

Comment